Baseball Cy Young & MVP Award Winners Named

Baseball Cy Young & MVP Award Winners Named

words_Nick Engvall

Earlier this month Major League Baseball announced Rookie of the Year winners Rangers closer Neftali Feliz and San Francisco Giants catcher Buster Posey. Today the final announcement was made in naming some of the other players to collect some hardware for the trophy cabinet over the 2010 season, most of whom have been regulars in our MLB Watch coverage.

Joey Votto wins National League MVP AwardWhile Buster Posey may be on his way to an upcoming Eastbay catalog cover, another player to receive an award this year made an appearance earlier this year. Cincinnati Reds slugger Joey Votto had a career year leading the Cincinnati Reds into the postseason for the first time in 15 years. Votto finished up the season with a batting average of .324, 37 home runs, and 113 runs batted in. The down-to-earth first basemen grabbed all but one vote in this year’s National League MVP voting. Votto led the Reds in nearly every statistical category at the plate including, batting average, home runs, runs batted in, on-base percentage, hits, runs, and slugging percentage.

In the American League the Texas Rangers continued to have a storied season. After the team’s first ever World Series appearance and rookie Neftali Feliz winning Rookie of the Year honors, outfielder Josh Hamilton was announced as the American League’s Most Valuable Player. Hamilton led the team to the World Series on the offensive side, batting .359 with 32 home runs, 186 hits and .411 on-base percentage. Hamilton also finished second on the team in runs with 95, and was above all other Rangers players with a .633 slugging percentage.

Felix Hernandez named as American League Cy Youn Award winner.In what many had named as the Year of the Pitcher, the Cy Young Award winners were as expected for most. Although voting had finished before Roy Halladay was near perfect in his postseason debut, it wasn’t really a surprise that the right-hander was named as the NL Cy Young winner. With Halladay’s perfect game against the Marlins in May as the high point, his performance really never had any kind of slow this season. Halladay went 21-10 with a 2.44 ERA racking up 219 strikeouts along the way. He led the league in wins and was best in baseball in innings pitched with 250 2/3, shutouts with 4 and complete games with 9.

In the American League, Seattle Mariners hurler Felix Hernandez grabbed 21 out of the possible 28 votes to win his first Cy Young Award. Hernadez despite pitching for a Mariners team with a lackluster offense was dominant all season. Hernandez finished with an ERA of 2.24 and 249 2/3 innings pitched, both of which were tops in the American League. He also led the AL in quality starts and batting average against. Hernandez struck out 232 batters over the season and threw 6 complete games for the Mariners.

Joey Votto Eastbay Fielder's Choice Cover

Baseball Cy Young & MVP Award Winners Named

Roy Halladay Near Perfect in Philly Post-Season Debut

words_Nick Engvall

Roy Halladay throws a no-hitter in post-season debut.This season has been labeled by countless people: “The Year of the Pitcher.”

Tonight, however, I think it’s safe to say that many of those people would agree, it might just be Roy Halladay’s season. After pitching for the Toronto Blue Jays for 12 seasons, Halladay got his wish to play for a team in the post-season this year. Remember, Halladay joined the Phillies after last season in a three-way deal that sent Cliff Lee to Seattle, who ironically also had a great start for the Rangers in the first day of the post-season action as they beat the Rays.

Regardless of where or who went to any other teams, it is safe to say that the Philadelphia Phillies got the best of one of the biggest trades in recent baseball history.

Halladay became the first player in history to throw a no-hitter in his post-season debut, and only Don Larsen in the 1956 World Series had ever thrown a no-hitter in the post-season before. Halladay led the Phillies to a 4-0 victory over the Cincinnati Reds in Game 1 of the series.Roy Halladay tips his hat to the crowd after throwing a no-hitter.

This year, Halladay will inevitably add his second Cy Young Award to his shelves. His first came in 2003 when Halladay went 22-7 with a 3.25 ERA and 204 strikeouts. This year, his first in the National League, Halladay has been even better.

On May 29th, he threw a perfect game against Florida, only the second in Phillies history. Halladay’s magic has baffled hitters all season. The Phillies ace finished at 21-10, but set a career high in strikeouts with 219. He also posted one near-bests in innings pitched with 250.2, second only to his first Cy Young season in 2003, as well as in ERA with an impressive 2.44 this season, second only to his 2.41 in 2005.

Wednesday’s game was more of Roy’s dominance. There wasn’t even much of a well-hit ball against him, and he tallied eight strikeouts, missing a perfect game by just one walk given up in the fifth inning. Halladay threw just 104 pitches, 79 of which were strikes. The right-hander threw a first pitch strike to 25 of the 28 batters he faced. The exclamation point came with a solid play from his partner behind the plate, Carlos Ruiz, who made a nice play on a Brandon Phillips’ barely tapped ground ball.

Now we all know that Cy Young Awards are won during the regular season, but really, could this season be anyone but Roy Halladay’s?

images via yahoo