Making History: The AAU Sullivan Award

Making History: The AAU Sullivan Award

AAU Sullivan 1

Michael Phelps. Peyton Manning. Shawn Johnson. Ezekiel Elliott.

For 88 straight years, the AAU Sullivan Award has been presented to the nation’s best amateur athlete. The list of past winners is a who’s who of some of the greatest athletes the world has ever seen. From the inaugural 1930 winner Bobby Jones, who was a trailblazer in golf, to the 1981 winner Carl Lewis, who set records in track, to the 2016 winner Lauren Carlini, who was the first volleyball player to win the award, these athletes have starred in a variety of sports. Each one of them has captivated and entertained sports fans throughout the world during their amateur career.

AAU Sullivan 2

This year’s AAU Sullivan Award winner was world-champion wrestler and Team USA hero Kyle Snyder. For a backstage look at this year’s event and all of the incredible nominees, click here.

If you want to learn more about the history of the award or find out how you can vote for next year’s AAU Sullivan Award winner, visit


**You could win up to $500 of gift cards just by entering our new Eastbay Summer Heatstakes. Sign up now for your chance to win big.