Since the early 2000s, there have been 15 World Series-winning athletes to have been featured on an Eastbay cover. This year will make 16, but who will it be? New York’s David Wright and Kansas City’s Ben Zobrist have both been on a cover at one point in their career. The first pitch of the Series happens tomorrow night, so we’ll find out soon. If you want to cheer your team on, head to eastbay.com for the latest MLB Fan Gear.

Here are the first 15 and the years they won:

Albert Pujols – 2006, 2011

He’s now with the Angels, but Pujols won two titles with his first team, the St. Louis Cardinals.

Brian Wilson – 2010

That legendary beard had a legendary run with 48 regular season saves and San Francisco’s first World Series title in over 50 years.

Buster Posey – 2010, 2012, 2014

Must be a great feeling to be in San Fran on even years. 2016, anyone?


David Eckstein – 2002, 2006

Fun fact: He’s one of the few starting shortstops to win a title in the AL (Angels in 2002) and the NL (Cardinals in 2006).

David Ortiz – 2004, 2007, 2013

Big Papi is a Boston legend and with titles, he has the hardware to back it up, including the one from 2004 that ended the Red Sox’s almost 90-year title drought.

Jacoby Ellsbury – 2007, 2013

The only member of the Red Sox in the 30 HR-30 SB club, Ellsbury has been a major postseason factor.


Jimmy Rollins – 2008

Now with the Los Angeles Dodgers, Philly’s all-time leader in hits helped the Phillies secure their second title in team history.

Mark Teixeira – 2009

After stops in Texas, Atlanta, and Los Angeles, the big power hitter discovered that the fourth time was the charm as he finally got a ring in his first year with the Yankees.

Miguel Cabrera – 2003

He became one of the greatest hitters of all time with Detroit, but Cabrera’s only title came in his rookie season with the Florida Marlins.

Nomar Garciaparra – 2004

During the regular season of the year Boston ended its title drought, Garciaparra was traded to the Cubs. Boston would win the Series and the team recognized Nomar’s impact by giving him a ring.


Roger Clemens – 1999, 2000

Rocket was one of the most dominant pitchers in baseball history, so it’s no surprise he got two rings with the Yankees.

Tim Lincecum – 2010, 2012, 2014

Nicknamed “The Freak” for his incredible velocity despite a small frame, Lincecum has put together some freakishly good performances throughout the years to help his Giants win three rings.

Troy Glaus – 2002

Glaus played on five different teams, but he became a World Series champ at his first stop with the Angels.

Alex Rodriguez – 2009
Albert Pujols – 2006, 2011
Derek Jeter – 1996, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2009

You’re looking at eight rings, six league MVPs, and 38 All-Star selections. Now that’s a cover.