words_Nick Engvall

NCAA: Colege World Series 2010Last night Cody Reine blasted not one, but two two-run home runs to give the Oklahoma Sooners their first College World Series appearance since 1995. Reine’s two home runs gave him a total in the last two days the Sooners defeated Virginia for the final spot in Omaha, where they will look to add another national championship to their list, a feat they last accomplished in 1994. With their current hitting hot streak and momentum, as the last team in the final eight to win a College World Series, it looks as if the Sooners might be a slight favorite to win it all at this point.

Oklahoma will face South Carolina on Sunday in their first game of the College World Series, which features eight teams in a double elimination style tournament for the first round, then continue on in best-of-three format later this month.

Along with Oklahoma and South Carolina in the first bracket of the College World Series, will be top ranked Arizona State who last won in 1981, and Clemson who hasn’t been to the College World Series since 2006, and has never won a title in its previous 11 appearances. For the Sun Devils, this will be their first College World Series in the now 22 times they’ve been involved that they will carry the number one seed, a burden that also doubles as a target on your back.

On the other side of the bracket, the Horned Frogs of TCU, making their first appearance in school history, will take on Florida State to start off the College World Series on Saturday, June 19th at 2PM EST. That game will be followed by third ranked Florida, in their first appearance since 2005, against theĀ  seventh ranked UCLA Bruins, who hasn’t been in the series since 1997, at 7PM EST.

With such a low number of “regulars” in this year’s eight team World Series, this year is sure to be exciting from start to finish.